Of Ice and Men MOBI Ð Of Ice Kindle -

Of Ice and Men MOBI Ð Of Ice  Kindle -
    Of Ice and Men MOBI Ð Of Ice Kindle - helicopters race to rescue its crew, and a local sailor fights to keep the rig off the rocks In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and In the Heart of the Sea, Of Ice and Men is not just the firsthand story of a maritime disaster This short book is the definitive account of the mistakes that led up to it, the corners Shell and its contractors cut, the heroism that saved lives and the heroism that could ultimately save neither the Kulluk nor Shell s Arctic dreams National Magazine Award finalist McKenzie Funk, author of thes Windfall The Booming Business of Global Warming, takes us from the remote edges of the American Arctic to the cockpits of the rescue helicopters to the boardrooms of the international oil industry and to Washington, DC where the push for energy independence can turn on the strength of a sailor s knot and on the fate of a runaway drill rig thousands of miles away Drawn from dozens of interviews in Alaska and hundreds of pages of Coast Guard reports and oil industry documents, Of Ice and Men takes us to the edge of the world with today s energy explorers, whose quest for oil has stretched a line so long and thin from the rest of us that it threatens to snap PRAISE FOR McKENZIE FUNK An intrepid journalist who brings a dizzyingly abstruse phenomenon down to a human scale The Wall Street Journal, on Funk sbook Windfall An exceptional crafter of narrative, Funk travels the globe hanging out with fascinating characters Mother Jones Funk s talent shimmers Here is a brilliant young stylist at work, pushing the boundaries of investigative journalism and literary non fiction Eliza Griswold, author of The Tenth Parallel Funk s take on global warming profiteering is as entertaining as it is disturbing The New Yorker, on Windfall ABOUT THE AUTHOR McKenzie Funk is the author of Windfall, named a best book of the year by The New Yorker, Mother Jones, Salon, and A National Magazine Award finalist and former Knight Wallace Fellow, he won the Oakes Prize for a story about the melting Arctic and was a finalist for the Livingston Award for his interview in Tajikistan with one of the first prisoners released from Guantanamo Bay His writing appears in Harper s, National Geographic, Rolling Stone, Outside, and The New York Times Magazine Funk speaks five languages and is a native of the Pacific Northwest, where he lives with his wife and sons."/>
  • Kindle Edition
  • 53 pages
  • Of Ice and Men
  • McKenzie Funk
  • English
  • 21 May 2019

Of Ice and Men❮Epub❯ ➥ Of Ice and Men ➤ Author McKenzie Funk – Essayreview.co.uk New Year s Eve, With the world s easy oil supplies tapped out, the energy giant Royal Dutch Shell has made an urgent, billion bet on finding new reserves in one of Earth s wildest environments the f New Year s Eve,With the world s easy oil supplies tapped out, the energy giant Royal Dutch Shell has made an urgent,billion bet on finding new reserves in Of Ice Kindle - one of Earth s wildest environments the frigid Arctic Ocean off Alaska But the hunt for extreme oil pushes the world s biggest company past its limits, and disaster strikes An oil rig, the Kulluk, breaks loose on the high seas and begins drifting toward the rocks of remote Kodiak Island As a winter storm builds, Coast Guard helicopters race to rescue its crew, and a local sailor fights to keep the rig off the rocks In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and In the Heart of the Sea, Of Ice and Men is not just the firsthand story of a maritime disaster This short book is the definitive account of the mistakes that led up to it, the corners Shell and its contractors cut, the heroism that saved lives and the heroism that could ultimately save neither the Kulluk nor Shell s Arctic dreams National Magazine Award finalist McKenzie Funk, author of thes Windfall The Booming Business of Global Warming, takes us from the remote edges of the American Arctic to the cockpits of the rescue helicopters to the boardrooms of the international oil industry and to Washington, DC where the push for energy independence can turn on the strength of a sailor s knot and on the fate of a runaway drill rig thousands of miles away Drawn from dozens of interviews in Alaska and hundreds of pages of Coast Guard reports and oil industry documents, Of Ice and Men takes us to the edge of the world with today s energy explorers, whose quest for oil has stretched a line so long and thin from the rest of us that it threatens to snap PRAISE FOR McKENZIE FUNK An intrepid journalist who brings a dizzyingly abstruse phenomenon down to a human scale The Wall Street Journal, on Funk sbook Windfall An exceptional crafter of narrative, Funk travels the globe hanging out with fascinating characters Mother Jones Funk s talent shimmers Here is a brilliant young stylist at work, pushing the boundaries of investigative journalism and literary non fiction Eliza Griswold, author of The Tenth Parallel Funk s take on global warming profiteering is as entertaining as it is disturbing The New Yorker, on Windfall ABOUT THE AUTHOR McKenzie Funk is the author of Windfall, named a best book of the year by The New Yorker, Mother Jones, Salon, and A National Magazine Award finalist and former Knight Wallace Fellow, he won the Oakes Prize for a story about the melting Arctic and was a finalist for the Livingston Award for his interview in Tajikistan with one of the first prisoners released from Guantanamo Bay His writing appears in Harper s, National Geographic, Rolling Stone, Outside, and The New York Times Magazine Funk speaks five languages and is a native of the Pacific Northwest, where he lives with his wife and sons.


About the Author: McKenzie Funk

McKenzie Funk is an award winning magazine journalist and the author of Windfall His writing has appeared in Harper s, National Geographic, Rolling Stone, Outside, and The New Of Ice Kindle - York Times.


10 thoughts on “Of Ice and Men

  1. says:

    Todas las historias de Deca intentan a adir un elemento humano, las motivaciones de los actores principales.Esta historia me ha gustado especialmente porque no es el protagonista sino un hombre que psaba por all quien es el protagonista.Alguien que lo nico que quiere es hacer las cosas propiamente Adem s las explicaciones sobre lo que ocurre en el mar est n muy bien, se puede visualizar perfectamente.

  2. says:

    Unbelievably excellent reporting and writing Period.

  3. says:

    It was good, but told one side of the story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *