Hardcover ¶ Yellow Wife Epub Á

Hardcover  ¶ Yellow Wife Epub Á
  • Hardcover
  • 288 pages
  • Yellow Wife
  • Sadeqa Johnson
  • 25 November 2018
  • 9781982149109

Yellow Wife❮Reading❯ ➵ Yellow Wife ➭ Author Sadeqa Johnson – Essayreview.co.uk In the tradition of Wrench and Twelve Years a Slave, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced to barter love and freedom while living in the most infamous slave jail in Virginia

In the tradition of Wrench and Twelve Years a Slave, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced to barter love and freedom while living in the most infamous slave jail in VirginiaBorn on a plantation in Charles City, Virginia, Pheby Brown was promised her freedom on her eighteenth birthday But when her birthday finally comes around, instead of the idyllic life she was hoping for with her true love, she finds herself thrust into the bowels of slavery at the infamous Devil’s HalfAcre, a jail where slaves are broken, tortured, and sold every day Forced to become the mistress of the brutal man who owns the jail, Pheby faces the ultimate sacrifice to protect her heart in this powerful, thrilling story of one slave’s fight for freedom.


About the Author: Sadeqa Johnson

sadeqajohnsonReviews of And Then There Was MeSadeqa Johnson continues to find her groove inventing characters that we know From the second you jump into And Then There Was Me you just may be surprised Essence MagazineAnd Then There Was Me is a well written, thought provoking novel that many women will relate to Kimberla Lawson Roby, New York Times best selling author of Copycat A story of one woman's journey toward the life she deserves, with plenty of satisfying and surprising twists along the way KirkusAnd Then There Was Me is a thought provoking novel about marriage, parenthood, and friendship PopSugar, Brilliant Books You Should Read This SpringReviews of Second House From the CornerNovelist Sadeqa Johnson should take a bow for her latest effort Fans of 's Love in a Carry On Bag th Street Press, her first offering, will devour every word of Second House From the Corner Essence MagazineI loved Second House From the Corner Sadeqa was totally in my head at some times with the mommy stuff!, and I found the ending really, really satisfying Well earned Books You Should Read This Winter, PopsugarJohnson is a skilled storyteller with a breezy style, and the journey of Felicia, a strong African American woman, will have particular appeal for Terry McMillan fans Booklist.


10 thoughts on “Yellow Wife

  1. says:

    Go ahead, sign me up for the heartache. :( This sounds so sad but important.

  2. says:

    Having the opportunity to chat directly with authors makes me fall in love with their books even more. And that’s exactly what happened with Sadeqa Johnson’s book, The Yellow Wife.

    The Yellow Wife is a masterful piece of historical fiction that was inspired by Sadequa’s family’s visit to the Richmond Slave Trail along the James River in Virginia. When I spoke with Sadeqa recently, she shared how a Mary Lumpkins trail marker kept calling her psyche back. I’m so glad she listened because the novel is brilliantly researched and soulfully written.

    Sadeqa creates a narrative through the eyes of the fictional character, Pheby Delores Brown, who becomes the yellow wife to the notoriously cruel owner of the Devil’s Half Acre jail. Pheby may be fictional, but through the narrative we get a glimpse of what life may have been like for the real Mary Lumpkins as she navigates motherhood. This is a must-read novel, or audiobook listen, for fans of historical fiction. I’m eager to share it with The Walking Book Club, whose members move while listening. I have a feeling there will be lots of member activity for this audiobook. Thank you for the advanced copy Simon and Schuster

  3. says:

    This is a Historical Fiction book. I am so lucky to receive an e-copy of this book from Netgalley, and I will post a honest review of this book as soon as I finish reading it.

  4. says:

    The Yellow Wife by Sadeqa Johnson is the absolutely stunning story of Pheby, a young slave who, because of her mother, had a much different upbringing than other slaves. She is educated, can play the piano, read and write. Once her mother dies, she is sold to the cruel owner, Jailer, of Devil's Half Acre Jail. There, Pheby tries to endure life for her children.

    The Yellow Wife had me captivated immediately! While it is not the normal storyline I would gravitate towards, I couldn't put it down. I found myself staying awake late at night to finish it or even sneaking in a page or two any chance I had so I could continue to stay in the story. This story was full of heartbreak, grief, desperation, love and endurance. A masterpiece.

    Thank you to Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for my review and honest opinions.

  5. says:

    A first person narrative. A fully realized historical rendering of life as a slave and life on the plantation. Pheby Dolores Brown born to a mother ,a slave who was a gifted seamstress. Pheby could read,write and play the piano. Factors which would ease her life on the plantation until her mother died following a accident. Her mother gone she is sold and finds herself at the mercy of a man she only refers to as the Jailor. The jail they refer to was the way station in town where slaves were held until sold or died. The driving force of life with the Jailor were her children. It was enduring a better life for her children that gave her life meaning and purpose. Pheby is a force when needed as she learns to use the Jailor’s lust for her to make inroads to a better life for her children. It is raw . It is eye opening. It is worth every minute you can spare. Happy reading

  6. says:

    I honestly don't know what to say. First off I was given a copy of this wonderful book from net galley. The Yellow Wife is truly amazing. I had not idea that this sort of thing in the book aka Slave Jails actually existed. I can't even imagine the terror and horror those poor people saw and endured. Everyone needs to read this book! #netgalley

  7. says:

    First thank you to Edelweiss+ and the publisher for an advanced e-ARC of the book in exchange for my honest opinion. Block your calendar and turn off your phone because you will not be able to put this book down. Pheby is an amazing woman and her story is truly about love, family and faith. You will find yourself holding your breath more than once and will be surprised at the ending. A terrific read. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *